USA, Canada, France and Italy added to hotel quarantine list

Saturday, April 10

The USA and Canada have been added to the mandatory hotel quarantine list following a Cabinet meeting.

France, Italy and Belgium are also among the additional added to the list.

A total of 16 countries have been added, including Bangladesh, Kenya, Luxembourg, Pakistan, Turkey, Armenia, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Curaçao, Maldives and Ukraine.

The measure will come into effect from 4am on Thursday 15 April.

Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly has said the decision was made "following public health advice relating to variants of concern with Covid-19".

"These variants pose a significant risk to our fight against this disease and our vaccination programme," he added. 

The Cabinet has also agreed to remove Israel, Albania, and Saint Lucia from the mandatory quarantine list.

However, anyone currently in mandatory quarantine who has travelled from or through these states must complete their period of quarantine, the Department of Health has said.

The Government plans to double the hotel capacity to deal with hotel quarantining from 654 hotel rooms currently, to over 1,100 rooms in the coming weeks. 

Yesterday, the HSE said there had been ten confirmed cases of Covid-19 detected through testing at mandatory hotel quarantine facilities since 26 March.

The full list of the designated states for mandatory hotel quarantine can be found here.