Three countries removed from hotel quarantine list

Monday, April 12

Albania, Israel and St Lucia have been removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list.  

However, travellers are still obliged to quarantine at home for 14 days, unless they obtained a "not detected" PCR test on day five after arrival.

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said the three countries had experienced "a substantially improved epidemiological situation".

He added that in the coming days, he intends to designate a number of additional states, "so as to ensure that Ireland is protected as far as possible from importation of variants of concern, which pose a significant risk to our fight against this disease".

The USA, Canada, France, Belgium and Italy are among 16 countries to be added to the list from 15 April.

The other countries added to the list on Friday are: Bangladesh, Kenya, Luxembourg, Pakistan, Turkey, Armenia, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Curaçao, Maldives, and Ukraine.

They will join the other countries already on the list: Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Eswatini, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Suriname, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.